December 25, 2022 Liminal Horror Adventure

#Dungeon23 Prep

Where Goblin Archives attempts to write a room a day for a year and see if a traditional mega-dungeon will work with Liminal Horror.

Origin of

For those not aware, Sean McCoy Win Conditions posted a preview project he was doing called Dungeon23. The original tweet is included below. Here is a more in-depth post he made about the project #dungeon23.

The Below A LIMINAL HORROR MEGADUNGEON

For my entry we will be diving into a mega-dungeon that lays below an abandoned” island (in proximity of Bayocean, and based on Hashima Island). Peliminarily titled The Below/Caverns of Hashima.

Evacuated decades prior, small pockets of people still make this place their home, despite the dangers. Residents of the island know better than venturing too far below.

Hashima Island — MRJAKEPARKER.COM

CROSS SECTION OF MAP

Here is a cross section of my dungeon. 12 levels lay below the island.

While 1-3 were utilized by the more modern residents of the island. Levels 4-12 existed long ago. There was a reason why they were sealed away…

img

SURFACE

I will write some descriptions (point crawl/zones style) for the surface. Some factions will reside above, with most of the detail waiting for what awaits underground. I’ll be adapting this map to a functional surface village zones.

img

LEVEL 1: THE HOLE

This level acts as the underground section of the above city. It is where some of the more nefarious humans have set up shop, far away from prying eyes of governments, corporations or externally imposed laws.”

img

LEVEL 2: RESEARCH

I always seem to include corporations/governments doing shady shit in my work, and this won’t be any different. As with most LH work, there will be a paranatural bend to it. Since I haven’t started writing the dungeon, I’m not sure what the problem they set in motion will be, but I have a feeling it will allow me to justify a LH take on 2d6 Goblins”

img

What I’m reading to get prepared:

I find having clear touchstones and exemplars help me anchor my writing/process. I have a feeling that each level will end up having very specific touchstones/playlists/read-lists. Here is what I’m reading in the leadup.

Modules:

Manga:

Films:

As a special treat:

Only for my newsletter crew, here’s a peak at some of the possible things that may show up (a glimpse at the notes app)

  • Mage making human animal hybrids
  • Godzilla children (like the spawn from the tail of Shin Godzilla)
  • Fungal cult
  • LH style Goblins”
  • Elephants foot
  • Flooded part of the mines (you can unflood)
    • Locked vampire”
  • twist on undead/skeleton - Porcelain noroi masked
  • Shapeshifter…mimic
  • Witch/seer
  • Tremors monster thing.
  • Ceiling of doors
<iframe src="https://goblinarchives.substack.com/embed" width="480" height="320" style="border:1px solid #EEE; background:white;" frameborder="0" scrolling="no"></iframe>

Subscribve to the newsletter here: Goblin Archives’ The Stacks


Previous post
Tales from the Void... What lurks within the dark “dead” by Max Lander. From the zine Night Walks Issue #1 As this jam has evolved, it has become clear that having a collection of LIMINAL HORROR
Next post
Designing Framework Liminal Horror as an adaptable system for bringing modern horror to the ttrpg table. This Design Framework is intended to help designers, creators,